Databases

Books & Reading

Databases to help you find that perfect book. For more online resources related to books and reading, check out our useful websites page!

 

Author Talks Online

Enjoy a range of talks from bestselling authors and thought leaders.

 

Novelist

Find your next great read! Search unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme; find read-alikes; find the next book in your series; and more!

 

 

People & Business

 

Consumer Reports

Research products before you buy them! Consumer Reports is a nonprofit organization dedicated to unbiased product testing and research, education, and advocacy.

 

 

JobNow

Get live job coaching, resume assistance, computer training, and more to help with your job search.

   

 

Reference Solutions

Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) has vital information on people, businesses, consumers, healthcare providers, new movers & homeowners, as well as historical business information. Business executives can find valuable sales leads, conduct market research or competitive analysis, and do effective marketing & outreach. Students are able to reference this data for research projects and job seekers may find gainful employment.

 

 

AtoZdatabases

AtoZdatabases provides vital information on people, businesses, healthcare professionals, new movers, homeowners, as well as market research and research information on residents interests, hobbies, and lifestyles.

 

Investments

 

Value Line

The same great Value Line, now in an easy-to read online format! Get up-to-date investment information, research, and education. Provided in part by generous donations from Mr. Stankevich and John and Ruth Day.

Please note: The library’s Value Line subscription can only support 6 users at a time. If you receive an error message that says “VALUE LINE SIMULTANEOUS USER LIMIT REACHED,” please try back later.

 

 

Newspapers

 

NewsBank

NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Search and browse full-text articles from newspapers and news magazines. Free and ad-free! Plus, set up alerts for certain words or subjects.

 

 

The New York Times

• Get started at home »
• Get started in the library »

Access The New York Times news from home or in the library — plus 25+ customizable newsletters, access to the Today’s Paper web app, and mini crosswords!

The New York Times Digital uses a redeemable code to process your free library access. Click “Redeem,” then sign in to your New York Times account. If you don’t have a New York Times account, you can make one for free. When your code runs out, simply return to this page to request another code. 

 

The Wall Street Journal

Access The Wall Street Journal news from home or in the library!

The Wall Street Journal uses a redeemable code to process your free library access. If you already have an account, click SIGN IN. If you don’t have an account, enter your information to set up a free account. When your code runs out, simply return to this page to request another code.

You are not permitted to share your sign-on credentials with any other person whatsoever.

 

More Newspaper Resources

 

Learn & Create

 

Niche Academy

Watch training videos for the library’s online databases and services.

 

LearningExpress

Access video courses to learn popular software and computer basics; plus tools to help you build your resume, find a career, search for jobs and internships, and discover schools and scholarships.

 

 

Chilton Auto Repair

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs, including step-by-step service and repair procedures, labor estimating, diagrams, close-up photographs and illustrations, and ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams.

 

 

Transparent Language

Learn a new language with easy lessons! Pick from 120 different languages, including English as a Second Language (ESL) created specifically for speakers of 35 different languages.

 

Creativebug

Watch more than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.

 

 

Craft & Hobby

Unlock your creative potential with the largest resource of video-on-demand learning in the craft and hobby space. Learn at your own pace with step-by-step tutorials in 20 different creative interests.

 

 

Genealogy

 

AncestryLibrary In-Library Use Only

With 7 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees, this is the world’s largest online family history resource.

 

 

Berlin High School Yearbooks

Full-color scanned yearbooks from Berlin High School available online, 1936 to 2010.

 

Connecticut State Library Genealogy

All of the Connecticut State Library’s online genealogy resources, including newspaper archives, databases, magazines, repositories, primary source materials, and more.

 

Historical Name Index

The Historical Name Index is an index of Kensington, Berlin, and East Berlin families. Due to the scarcity of information some names may be only a listing. There may be some entries taken from recent obituaries but most of the information is historical in nature.

 

FamilySearch Affiliate

FamilySearch is a free, non-profit, volunteer-driven genealogy organization that holds billions of birth, death, marriage, military, migration, and other types of records. FamilySearch also allows you to build your own personal family tree. To use FamilySearch, you must create your own (free!) account.

As an affiliate, Berlin-Peck is able to provide access to limited-access FamilySearch databases. These databases can only be accessed inside the library, but the rest of FamilySearch can be used at home.

 

 

Research

 

Connecticut State Library

Archives, records, museums, and services provided by the Connecticut State Library.

 

Connecticut State Library Archive

Records from Connecticut state government departments, commissions, and offices; non-governmental institutions, organizations, and churches; tax lists and other official records from Connecticut towns.

 

Connecticut State Library Databases

Online searchable databases with legal, biographical, genealogical, government, and general information, including indexes, journals, and online newspapers available on-site at the Connecticut State Library.

 

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections

Historical photos and papers; account books, diaries, and journals; photographs of Connecticut; Connecticut State Library history; court documents; library items; State Archives items; law and legislation; legislative histories; newspapers; portraits; and more.

 

ResearchIT CT

Journal, magazine, newspaper articles, downloadable audiobooks and ebooks for Connecticut residents with valid CT public library card numbers.

 

Salem History

Comprehensive information on historical events and provides biographical sketches.